Alpha Xi Delta

Theta Lambda at Southwestern University

Chapter History

The closing of one chapter at Southwestern University in the early 1990s left an opening in the Greek community, and, after a Panhellenic sponsored extension process, Alpha Xi Delta was chosen to become the fourth Panhellenic organization on campus. After being colonized on January 10, 1992, the Theta Lambda chapter of Alpha Xi Delta, with the help of some nearby chapters at Texas State University and the University of Texas at Austin and local alumnae, participated in all three rounds of the university's formal, deferred recruitment.

The Theta Lambda chapter was installed on April 25, 1992 by a group of distinguished guests. Jayne Wade Anderson, National President, served as the presiding officer. Linda Dinus the National Extension Vice President, Diane Gregory the National Executive Director, Jane Cooper the Region I Alumnae Director, representatives from many Texas alumnae chapters, and collegiate members from Beta Alpha and Delta Psi chapters also attended the installation.

Today Theta Lambda continues to thrive and grow as a chapter, holding sisterhood events, philanthropy events, and recruitment events throughout the semester, and sisters continually seek to better themselves, their community, and their chapter all while upholding the ideals of Alpha Xi Delta.   

The Theta Lambda chapter was privileged enough to celebrate their 25th anniversary recently, and looks forward to the next 25 years of guiding women in realizing their full potential. 

The founding members of the Theta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Xi Delta